Latest complete month: September 2026, police departments via the FBI
Vehicle theft rate by city, 2026
Oakland, CA had the highest reported vehicle theft rate of the 155 U.S. cities and county areas with at least 100,000 residents over each one’s latest 12 reported months (55 of them to Aug 2026): 1,448 per 100,000 residents, 6.1 times the median of 238. Meridian, ID had the lowest, 26. Compared with the 12 months before, vehicle thefts fell in 95 of them and rose in 7, with 2 about the same.
The theft or attempted theft of a motor vehicle: cars, trucks, SUVs, motorcycles and other vehicles that run on land. Taking a car from its driver by force or threat, a carjacking, is robbery, not vehicle theft.
The 155 cities and county areas together
12 months each- Vehicle thefts reported
- 227,074
- All of them, per 100k
- 334
- Median place, per 100k
- 238
- Fewer, same, more than a year earlier
Month by month same 104 cities and county areas
Vehicle thefts per month in the 104 ranked cities and county areas with every month through July 2026, against the same months a year earlier: the same places in every month. It stops a month short of the table because agencies keep adding to their latest month for weeks.
| Month | Vehicle thefts | Month a year earlier | Vehicle thefts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 2025 | 15587 | Aug 2024 | 17235 |
| Sep 2025 | 14246 | Sep 2024 | 16081 |
| Oct 2025 | 14313 | Oct 2024 | 16330 |
| Nov 2025 | 12842 | Nov 2024 | 14875 |
| Dec 2025 | 12558 | Dec 2024 | 15463 |
| Jan 2026 | 11629 | Jan 2025 | 15276 |
| Feb 2026 | 10608 | Feb 2025 | 14026 |
| Mar 2026 | 12019 | Mar 2025 | 15218 |
| Apr 2026 | 11891 | Apr 2025 | 14674 |
| May 2026 | 13047 | May 2025 | 15956 |
| Jun 2026 | 13128 | Jun 2025 | 15495 |
| Jul 2026 | 12385 | Jul 2025 | 16420 |
All 155 cities and county areas, highest rate first
100,000+ residents, 20+ vehicle theftsSorted by vehicle theft rate, highest first.
| # | Place12 months | Per 100ka year | Reportedin 12 months | Changevs. 12 months before | Residents | Theft from vehiclesper 100k a year |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Oakland, CAto Dec 2025 | 1,448 | 6,431 | — | 444,211 | —not reported separately |
| 2 | Minneapolis, MNto Aug 2026 | 1,233 | 5,278 | −3% | 428,057 | 1,2695,430 reported |
| 3 | Philadelphia, PAto Jul 2026 | 969 | 15,141 | −5% | 1,562,379 | 80612,586 reported |
| 4 | Kansas City, MOto Jul 2026 | 890 | 4,612 | −36% | 518,039 | 8544,425 reported |
| 5 | Milwaukee, WIto Feb 2026 | 831 | 4,650 | — | 559,717 | 5633,149 reported |
| 6 | Baltimore, MDto Jul 2026 | 790 | 4,447 | −5% | 562,811 | 1,0946,157 reported |
| 7 | Long Beach, CAto Dec 2025 | 725 | 3,245 | — | 447,317 | 6072,713 reported |
| 8 | Kansas City, KSto May 2026 | 674 | 1,057 | — | 156,815 | 507795 reported |
| 9 | Seattle, WAto Jul 2026 | 645 | 5,104 | −21% | 791,503 | 1,41611,207 reported |
| 10 | Rochester, NYto Jun 2026 | 630 | 1,300 | — | 206,391 | 447922 reported |
| 11 | Newark, NJto Jul 2026 | 607 | 1,933 | −21% | 318,638 | 3661,167 reported |
| 12 | Portland, ORto Aug 2026 | 583 | 3,680 | −15% | 631,483 | 1,2768,059 reported |
| 13 | Indianapolis, INto Oct 2025 | 567 | 5,125 | — | 903,574 | 5785,219 reported |
| 14 | New Haven, CTto May 2026 | 564 | 788 | — | 139,715 | 7521,050 reported |
| 15 | San Antonio, TXto Aug 2026 | 557 | 8,636 | −13% | 1,549,306 | 1,05716,378 reported |
| 16 | Hartford, CTto Aug 2026 | 537 | 658 | −22% | 122,548 | 521639 reported |
| 17 | Prince George's County, MD (County Police)to Jun 2026 | 533 | 3,953 | — | 741,477 | 6044,482 reported |
| 18 | Louisville, KYto Jul 2026 | 529 | 3,657 | −26% | 691,630 | 8836,106 reported |
| 19 | Anchorage, AKto Mar 2026 | 505 | 1,451 | — | 287,385 | —not reported separately |
| 20 | Buffalo, NYto May 2026 | 499 | 1,380 | — | 276,384 | 7552,088 reported |
| 21 | Peoria, ILto Aug 2026 | 497 | 554 | −14% | 111,389 | 625696 reported |
| 22 | Houston, TXto Mar 2026 | 496 | 11,974 | — | 2,413,559 | 1,24730,108 reported |
| 23 | Greensboro, NCto Dec 2025 | 496 | 1,539 | — | 310,328 | 6882,134 reported |
| 24 | San Jose, CAto Jul 2026 | 484 | 4,811 | −10% | 994,435 | 5165,130 reported |
| 25 | San Bernardino, CAto Aug 2026 | 478 | 1,078 | −22% | 225,448 | 5071,144 reported |
| 26 | Memphis, TNto Aug 2026 | 475 | 2,880 | −59% | 606,629 | 7334,447 reported |
| 27 | Shreveport, LAto Jul 2026 | 456 | 794 | −24% | 174,114 | 507882 reported |
| 28 | Lakewood, COto Jul 2026 | 455 | 714 | −34% | 157,016 | 6411,006 reported |
| 29 | Las Cruces, NMto Jul 2026 | 449 | 532 | −30% | 118,356 | 626741 reported |
| 30 | Las Vegas, NVto May 2026 | 447 | 7,651 | — | 1,712,136 | 4086,982 reported |
| 31 | Los Angeles, CAto Aug 2026 | 440 | 17,142 | +14% | 3,898,747 | 58322,737 reported |
| 32 | Springfield, MAto Jun 2026 | 429 | 662 | — | 154,390 | 539832 reported |
| 33 | Lansing, MIto Aug 2026 | 428 | 491 | −21% | 114,787 | 335384 reported |
| 34 | North Las Vegas, NVto Jun 2026 | 420 | 1,273 | — | 302,881 | 236715 reported |
| 35 | Paterson, NJto Jul 2026 | 414 | 665 | −21% | 160,567 | 7591,219 reported |
| 36 | Springfield, MOto Jul 2026 | 399 | 682 | −11% | 170,958 | 8901,521 reported |
| 37 | Nashville, TNto Aug 2026 | 395 | 2,835 | −40% | 718,499 | 9306,682 reported |
| 38 | Tulsa, OKto Apr 2026 | 387 | 1,607 | — | 415,528 | 5732,380 reported |
| 39 | Elizabeth, NJto Jul 2026 | 382 | 540 | −29% | 141,194 | 557787 reported |
| 40 | Fresno, CAto Aug 2026 | 382 | 2,107 | −21% | 551,969 | 6583,633 reported |
| 41 | San Francisco, CAto Dec 2025 | 374 | 3,050 | — | 815,330 | —not reported separately |
| 42 | Sacramento, CAto Jul 2026 | 372 | 2,002 | −15% | 538,389 | 4262,294 reported |
| 43 | Montgomery, ALto Aug 2026 | 368 | 717 | −30% | 194,775 | 72141 reported |
| 44 | Omaha, NEto Aug 2026 | 367 | 1,791 | −30% | 488,395 | 4642,267 reported |
| 45 | Independence, MOto Jul 2026 | 352 | 427 | −44% | 121,329 | 593720 reported |
| 46 | Gresham, ORto Jul 2026 | 340 | 377 | −31% | 110,776 | 311345 reported |
| 47 | Topeka, KSto Dec 2025 | 335 | 419 | — | 125,228 | 529663 reported |
| 48 | Richmond, VAto Jun 2026 | 333 | 785 | — | 235,995 | 9822,317 reported |
| 49 | Maui County, HI (County Police)to Apr 2026 | 332 | 539 | — | 162,116 | 463751 reported |
| 50 | Rockford, ILto Aug 2026 | 316 | 465 | −37% | 147,186 | 346509 reported |
| 51 | Phoenix, AZto Jul 2026 | 306 | 5,168 | −23% | 1,688,662 | —not reported separately |
| 52 | Honolulu, HIto Nov 2025 | 304 | 3,002 | — | 987,000 | 2752,711 reported |
| 53 | Little Rock, ARto Jul 2026 | 304 | 624 | −16% | 205,320 | 6361,306 reported |
| 54 | Vancouver, WAto May 2026 | 299 | 600 | — | 200,968 | 346696 reported |
| 55 | Hampton, VAto Jul 2026 | 293 | 404 | +5% | 138,041 | 400552 reported |
| 56 | Pittsburgh, PAto Mar 2026 | 291 | 893 | — | 306,794 | 4541,392 reported |
| 57 | North Charleston, SCto Jul 2026 | 285 | 367 | −22% | 128,751 | 743957 reported |
| 58 | Salt Lake City, UTto Jul 2026 | 285 | 633 | −33% | 222,304 | 1,0722,383 reported |
| 59 | Riverside, CAto Aug 2026 | 281 | 915 | −26% | 325,858 | 4471,458 reported |
| 60 | Fremont, CAto Aug 2026 | 281 | 639 | −28% | 227,635 | 5191,182 reported |
| 61 | Fargo, NDto Aug 2026 | 279 | 388 | −16% | 138,990 | 386537 reported |
| 62 | Norfolk, VAto Jul 2026 | 277 | 637 | −7% | 230,068 | 9732,238 reported |
| 63 | Oklahoma City, OKto Jul 2026 | 276 | 1,987 | −17% | 720,580 | 5543,989 reported |
| 64 | Raleigh, NCto Aug 2026 | 272 | 1,383 | −28% | 508,719 | 5062,574 reported |
| 65 | Fort Worth, TXto Aug 2026 | 270 | 2,786 | −33% | 1,030,410 | 4284,412 reported |
| 66 | Jersey City, NJto Aug 2026 | 264 | 807 | −5% | 305,249 | 276842 reported |
| 67 | San Diego, CAto Aug 2026 | 260 | 3,660 | −18% | 1,409,432 | 3334,689 reported |
| 68 | Kent, WAto May 2026 | 259 | 354 | — | 136,591 | 362494 reported |
| 69 | Fort Lauderdale, FLto Aug 2026 | 255 | 487 | −39% | 191,199 | 6921,323 reported |
| 70 | Glendale, AZto May 2026 | 253 | 659 | — | 260,498 | 375977 reported |
| 71 | Montgomery County, MD (County Police)to Jun 2026 | 252 | 2,332 | — | 924,573 | 4634,277 reported |
| 72 | Reno, NVto Apr 2026 | 249 | 713 | — | 286,060 | 4381,253 reported |
| 73 | Jackson, MSto Jul 2026 | 247 | 343 | — | 138,701 | 262363 reported |
| 74 | Evansville, INto Jun 2026 | 247 | 284 | — | 114,905 | 259298 reported |
| 75 | Fayetteville, NCto Aug 2026 | 243 | 509 | −29% | 209,151 | 5311,111 reported |
| 76 | Howard County, MD (County Police)to Jul 2026 | 242 | 825 | −23% | 340,315 | 3191,087 reported |
| 77 | Lexington, KYto Jul 2026 | 241 | 798 | −7% | 330,994 | 3921,297 reported |
| 78 | Sioux Falls, SDto Feb 2026 | 238 | 509 | — | 213,449 | 318678 reported |
| 79 | Knoxville, TNto Aug 2026 | 236 | 473 | −23% | 200,645 | 385773 reported |
| 80 | Pasadena, TXto Aug 2026 | 235 | 351 | −31% | 149,168 | 372555 reported |
| 81 | Killeen, TXto Feb 2026 | 232 | 376 | — | 162,382 | 363590 reported |
| 82 | Everett, WAto Jul 2026 | 229 | 260 | −52% | 113,547 | 511580 reported |
| 83 | Oxnard, CAto Jul 2026 | 224 | 449 | −35% | 200,296 | 367736 reported |
| 84 | Aurora, ILto Dec 2025 | 223 | 404 | — | 180,824 | 147265 reported |
| 85 | Newport News, VAto Dec 2025 | 223 | 408 | — | 182,798 | 444811 reported |
| 86 | Grand Rapids, MIto Jul 2026 | 218 | 437 | −30% | 200,467 | 5511,104 reported |
| 87 | Irving, TXto Aug 2026 | 215 | 554 | −31% | 258,220 | 381984 reported |
| 88 | Henderson, NVto Jul 2026 | 205 | 733 | −30% | 358,366 | 2881,031 reported |
| 89 | Lafayette, LAto Jul 2026 | 203 | 249 | −38% | 122,489 | —not reported separately |
| 90 | Fontana, CAto Jul 2026 | 203 | 448 | −17% | 220,837 | 219484 reported |
| 91 | Santa Ana, CAto Jun 2026 | 199 | 633 | — | 317,439 | 3861,224 reported |
| 92 | Lincoln, NEto Aug 2026 | 197 | 596 | −19% | 302,860 | 3861,169 reported |
| 93 | Salem, ORto Aug 2026 | 197 | 357 | −40% | 181,534 | 267485 reported |
| 94 | Hawaii County, HI (County Police)to May 2026 | 194 | 407 | — | 210,328 | 178374 reported |
| 95 | Garland, TXto Aug 2026 | 193 | 486 | −33% | 251,332 | 351881 reported |
| 96 | Green Bay, WIto Mar 2026 | 190 | 202 | — | 106,069 | 189200 reported |
| 97 | Fayetteville, ARto Jun 2026 | 184 | 194 | — | 105,335 | 428451 reported |
| 98 | Lubbock, TXto Jul 2026 | 182 | 501 | −21% | 275,713 | 5201,433 reported |
| 99 | Miami, FLto Jul 2026 | 181 | 903 | −35% | 498,792 | 4652,321 reported |
| 100 | Anne Arundel County, MD (County Police)to Jul 2026 | 181 | 1,017 | −27% | 562,033 | 3471,953 reported |
| 101 | Midland, TXto Aug 2026 | 180 | 264 | −8% | 146,444 | 350513 reported |
| 102 | El Paso, TXto Aug 2026 | 179 | 1,218 | −39% | 682,310 | 1611,097 reported |
| 103 | New York, NYto Jul 2026 | 178 | 14,823 | −9% | 8,336,817 | 26722,299 reported |
| 104 | Huntsville, ALto Aug 2026 | 177 | 415 | −21% | 234,043 | 279654 reported |
| 105 | Santa Clarita, CAto Dec 2025 | 174 | 397 | — | 228,353 | —not reported separately |
| 106 | Lowell, MAto May 2026 | 173 | 210 | — | 121,283 | 378459 reported |
| 107 | Jacksonville, FLto Jul 2026 | 173 | 1,744 | −23% | 1,008,920 | 4144,180 reported |
| 108 | Denton, TXto Jul 2026 | 171 | 296 | no change | 172,882 | 282487 reported |
| 109 | Miami-Dade County, FL (County Police)to Aug 2026 | 164 | 1,970 | −28% | 1,200,003 | 3263,915 reported |
| 110 | Fort Wayne, INto Jan 2026 | 164 | 451 | — | 275,451 | 3941,084 reported |
| 111 | Joliet, ILto Aug 2026 | 160 | 243 | +21% | 152,211 | 226344 reported |
| 112 | Norman, OKto May 2026 | 155 | 204 | — | 131,728 | 363478 reported |
| 113 | Eugene, ORto May 2026 | 154 | 275 | — | 178,886 | 551986 reported |
| 114 | Providence, RIto Jun 2026 | 147 | 288 | — | 195,376 | 370723 reported |
| 115 | Grand Prairie, TXto Aug 2026 | 145 | 305 | −34% | 210,147 | 180379 reported |
| 116 | Glendale, CAto Jul 2026 | 138 | 257 | −23% | 185,849 | 342635 reported |
| 117 | Modesto, CAto Jul 2026 | 133 | 294 | −45% | 221,064 | 275609 reported |
| 118 | Moreno Valley, CAto Aug 2026 | 131 | 282 | −34% | 215,203 | —not reported separately |
| 119 | Mesa, AZto Aug 2026 | 129 | 669 | −26% | 519,990 | 1951,013 reported |
| 120 | Huntington Beach, CAto Dec 2025 | 124 | 238 | — | 191,856 | —not reported separately |
| 121 | Overland Park, KSto Aug 2026 | 123 | 252 | −43% | 204,173 | 251512 reported |
| 122 | New Castle County, DE (County Police)to May 2026 | 118 | 519 | — | 439,696 | 183806 reported |
| 123 | Manchester, NHto Aug 2026 | 109 | 127 | −9% | 116,606 | 406473 reported |
| 124 | Scottsdale, AZto Jul 2026 | 104 | 258 | −29% | 247,258 | 240593 reported |
| 125 | Laredo, TXto Aug 2026 | 94 | 248 | −31% | 262,723 | 187492 reported |
| 126 | Madison, WIto Mar 2026 | 94 | 271 | — | 287,992 | 236681 reported |
| 127 | Fort Collins, COto Jul 2026 | 93 | 160 | −42% | 171,159 | 232397 reported |
| 128 | Tampa, FLto Feb 2026 | 91 | 383 | — | 421,313 | 187787 reported |
| 129 | Peoria, AZto Apr 2026 | 90 | 181 | — | 201,962 | 208421 reported |
| 130 | Elgin, ILto Mar 2026 | 85 | 97 | — | 114,717 | 147169 reported |
| 131 | Clarksville, TNto Aug 2026 | 81 | 154 | −57% | 190,532 | 135258 reported |
| 132 | St. Mary's County, MD (Sheriff)to Jun 2026 | 81 | 94 | — | 116,720 | 176206 reported |
| 133 | Pinellas County, FL (Sheriff)to Aug 2026 | 78 | 201 | −13% | 257,198 | 185475 reported |
| 134 | Bellevue, WAto Jul 2026 | 78 | 121 | −56% | 155,043 | 270418 reported |
| 135 | Harford County, MD (Sheriff)to Jul 2026 | 74 | 164 | −7% | 221,056 | 102225 reported |
| 136 | Hernando County, FL (Sheriff)to Aug 2026 | 68 | 143 | +38% | 210,286 | 117246 reported |
| 137 | Marion County, FL (Sheriff)to Aug 2026 | 64 | 228 | +37% | 355,347 | 140497 reported |
| 138 | Washington County, MD (Sheriff)to Aug 2026 | 62 | 65 | −26% | 104,674 | 107112 reported |
| 139 | Plano, TXto Aug 2026 | 59 | 174 | −45% | 295,030 | 212625 reported |
| 140 | Clearwater, FLto Jul 2026 | 56 | 65 | −19% | 116,679 | 187218 reported |
| 141 | Provo, UTto Jul 2026 | 55 | 64 | −26% | 115,576 | 158183 reported |
| 142 | Frisco, TXto Aug 2026 | 51 | 124 | +5% | 244,103 | 115281 reported |
| 143 | Rochester, MNto Sep 2026 | 49 | 61 | −38% | 124,142 | 154191 reported |
| 144 | McKinney, TXto Aug 2026 | 49 | 115 | −14% | 235,731 | 92216 reported |
| 145 | Olathe, KSto Aug 2026 | 47 | 71 | −49% | 150,965 | 91138 reported |
| 146 | Pembroke Pines, FLto Aug 2026 | 46 | 82 | −31% | 180,075 | 120216 reported |
| 147 | Irvine, CAto Sep 2026 | 45 | 145 | −15% | 321,339 | 167536 reported |
| 148 | Pasco County, FL (Sheriff)to Aug 2026 | 41 | 251 | −13% | 617,158 | 84518 reported |
| 149 | Gilbert, AZto Aug 2026 | 40 | 118 | −36% | 293,851 | 101297 reported |
| 150 | Naperville, ILto Jun 2026 | 31 | 48 | — | 154,062 | 82127 reported |
| 151 | Frederick County, MD (Sheriff)to Aug 2026 | 30 | 58 | −36% | 193,550 | 78151 reported |
| 152 | Sumter County, FL (Sheriff)to Aug 2026 | 30 | 41 | no change | 137,903 | 5475 reported |
| 153 | Fishers, INto Jul 2026 | 29 | 30 | −51% | 105,143 | 8084 reported |
| 154 | Hillsborough County, FL (Sheriff)to Jul 2026 | 28 | 307 | −32% | 1,092,535 | 80874 reported |
| 155 | Meridian, IDto Aug 2026 | 26 | 38 | +27% | 145,320 | 6392 reported |
# is the place by vehicle theft rate. Each place counts its own latest 12 months reported in full to the FBI, the same figures as the “Reported crime by type” section of its page; the change compares them with the 12 months before. 8 agencies do not report theft from vehicles separately (no NIBRS detail), shown as a dash.
Common questions
answered with the table above- Which U.S. city has the highest vehicle theft rate?
- Among the 155 cities and county areas on this site with at least 100,000 residents, Oakland, CA: 1,448 vehicle thefts per 100,000 residents in the 12 months to Dec 2025, from what the Oakland Police Department reports to the FBI. The median is 238, so that is 6.1 times the median. The lowest is Meridian, ID, at 26.
- Which city has the most vehicle thefts?
- By count rather than rate, Los Angeles, CA: 17,142 in the 12 months to Aug 2026. Big cities lead on counts because they have more people; the rate per 100,000 residents is what puts a city of 150,000 and one of 3 million on the same footing.
- Are vehicle thefts going down?
- In 104 of these cities and county areas with every month through Jul 2026, 154,253 vehicle thefts in Aug 2025 to Jul 2026 against 187,049 in the 12 months before (−18%). Across all 104 ranked places with both years, vehicle thefts fell in 95 and rose in 7.
- Does vehicle theft include break-ins and stolen parts?
- No. Vehicle theft is the vehicle itself being taken or an attempt to take it. Items stolen from a car and stolen parts, such as catalytic converters, are theft from vehicles (NIBRS 23F and 23G), shown in its own column: 147 of the 155 places report it separately.
How this is counted
FBI, by agency- Vehicle thefts are what each police department or sheriff reports to the FBI under the national standard (NIBRS), over its latest 12 months reported in full. The rate divides them by the residents the agency serves, per 100,000.
- Carjacking counts as robbery, not vehicle theft. Theft from vehicles, items or parts taken from a car, is NIBRS 23F and 23G, not burglary.
- Ranked: places with at least 100,000 residents and 20 vehicle thefts in those 12 months, where a few incidents do not swing the rate. 36 smaller places have the figure on their own page. 6 with fewer than 20: Palm Bay, FL, Indian River County, FL (Sheriff), Martin County, FL (Sheriff), Miramar, FL, Santa Rosa County, FL (Sheriff), Flagler County, FL (Sheriff). 7 are left out because the vehicle thefts they report cannot be a full count: under a fifth of the usual share of property crime, as if they were not being recorded (Lakeland, FL, 1 against about 205 expected; Port St. Lucie, FL, 3 against about 179 expected; Hialeah, FL, 7 against about 367 expected; Gainesville, FL, 12 against about 350 expected; Clay County, FL (Sheriff), 6 against about 159 expected; McAllen, TX, 23 against about 224 expected; Fort Myers, FL, 17 against about 119 expected). Not ranked because what they report to the FBI is incomplete: Chicago, IL. 97 more places do not have the breakdown by type for all 12 months yet and join as it arrives.
- The FBI cautions against ranking places on these numbers alone: how dense a place is, its economy, how often residents report crime and how each agency records it all shape them. A higher rate is more reports, not a statement about any street. How to read US crime numbers
Other offenses, same table: robbery rate by city and burglary rate by city. Violent and property crime overall: city crime rankings. Methodology